Tags

Wowza!  It’s already another week, and time for WIPpet Wednesday.  I had a lovely weekend camping with the hubby and my in-laws.  We did an impromptu hike up to the Timpanogas Caves, a grueling 1.5 mile hike stretching up over 6,000 feet in altitude.  For a girl who doesn’t hike very often or do much exercise, you can bet your butt that I am one sore bum after all of that.  It was worth it, though, and I would do it again.  Those caves were simply awesome to walk through.  Sadly I have no pictures to show for my first spelunking expedition, because me and the hubby are bad at remembering to bring the camera along with us for excursions other than Disneyland.  Even if we had brought it, I’m not sure I would have remembered to take pictures.  Suffice it to say, you just get my word that I really enjoyed the treat that is the Timpanogas Caves.

Now onto WIPpet Wednesday.  I debated about going back to Spellbound, but I’m having so much fun writing my fanfic, and your responses last week were so awesome that I am going to give another piece from that.  It will be 34 sentences.  It’s the 28th day of August in 2013.  28+2+0+1+3=34.

Clark is at work, and he has just picked up the phone.  Jimmy has told him there’s a woman wanting to speak with him.

* * *

“Mister Kent?” a mature English voice said on the other end. It sounded like an older woman.

“Yes?” said Clark.  “Can I help you?”

There was a small beat of silence over the line before she responded, drawing in a slow breath.  “I do so hope we can help each other.” Her accent was soft and a little muddled, but still unmistakably English.

“What do you mean?” Clark asked.

Again, there was a lengthy pause on the other end.  “This is a rather forward question, but are you looking for a young, deceased teenager named Rose?”

Goosebumps suddenly broke out along Clark’s arms, the hairs on his neck standing on end.  He drew in a sharp breath, stunned.  “How did you—?” he stopped abruptly, shock and caution warring with each other.  He found himself staring at the coffee mug as if it had been the one to tell the woman over the phone about Rose.

The woman’s voice quickly rushed in.  She sounded almost relieved at his confusion.  “Thank God, I know how crazy this must sound, but I’ve been having dreams where she’s told me to find you.  It took some time, but I came across your picture in the Daily Planet.”

It took a few seconds before Clark found his voice.  “Who are you?” the question came out more harshly than he intended, but he made no effort to soften the edge that had crept into his voice.

Another small pause.  “I’d rather not say just yet.  I’m a terribly private person, you see. But this spirit is not leaving me alone, and well . . . I’m not keen on being haunted forever, Mister Kent.  Perhaps you and I could meet and discuss how we can help this troubled spirit find peace and rest.”

Clark looked over at Lois, hoping to catch her eye, but her back was turned, her ear pressed to the phone and talking.  “When can we meet with you?”

“We?” the woman asked, a frown creeping into her voice.

“Yes, me and my partner,” Clark clarified.  “When can we meet you?”

“No,” the woman’s voice said matter-of-factly.  “There was no partner in my dream.  Only you, Mister Kent.  I will only meet with you.”

* * *

There you go!  Thank you K.L. Schwengel for generously hosting this each week.  For those wishing to involve themselves or to see the work of others, click on this link and participate!

Happy WIPpet Wednesday all!

