Hello!  Sorry I missed last week.  I completely spaced it because of personal circumstances. Thanks to Adrian’s reminder, I made it this week! (Yeah, I really am that forgetful)

As for the title, who is Spooky Looky, you might ask.  Well, I don’t know, but she has a cookie, and that has made her very happy.  A warm, chocolate chip cookie straight from the oven.

*wipes away drool*

Ahem.  Anyway.

I feel a little like I’m cheating for this week because I’ve written squat for more than a few weeks.  I’m battling motivation and myself and a contentment to come home and just chill.  You know, not really do anything.  I NEED NaNo WriMo because my writing mojo is clearly in the toilet.  So…. my goal before November is to do the editing my beta readers and editor have given me on Spellbound so that way the month is clear to work on the sequel, Captured.

For the 14th day in the 10th month of the year I present from chapter 14 of Spellbound 10 small paragraphs.  We are in Kelsey’s POV at the Outpost, the command center for the Defenders.  Kota is their ‘trusty robot,’ which name had previously been Beta, but I changed it.

* * * *

“Hey.”

Kelsey jumped and let out a squeak, so deeply absorbed in watching Kota that she hadn’t heard Yoko approach.   “Holy Moses, I didn’t hear you,” she breathed, clutching at her chest.

Yoko’s mouth twitched, but she chose not to reply. Instead, she nodded toward Kota and asked, “He’s still humming ‘Thriller?’ I’ve never met anyone so obsessed with Michael Jackson as he is.”

If Kota heard Yoko, he gave no indication. His shoulders moved up and down in chorus with his head to the song’s rhythm. He was now singing softly to himself, seemingly oblivious to all around.

Kelsey smirked. “Yeah.”  The downward tone in her voice caused Yoko to turn a sharp eye, one eyebrow rising in silent question.  Kelsey met her comrade’s inquiring gaze; Yoko had a knack for sensing when something was off.

Kelsey swallowed a sudden lump that had chosen to build, forcing it down. “Is he up yet?”

Yoko’s gaze fell in understanding.

Zeke.

She shook her head. “No, but Yuna just checked his vitals. They’re getting stronger.  She’ll be out in a minute once she’s freshened up.”  The Yellow Defender’s dark eyes studied Kelsey carefully; she tilted her head.  “Are you sure you don’t want to see him? I’ve told you, there isn’t any blood on him and—”

The Purple Defender shook her head. “No.”  Her tone was final.

* * * *

Please be gracious and check our fabulous host KL Schwengel and the fun shenanigans she unleashes on her page, and hop on over to check out the other WIPpeteers and their imaginations.  You can join in.  WIPpet Wednesday is all about sharing your Work In Progress and corresponding it with the date somehow.

